Help Center

Sync Conflict Resolution

A conflict occurs when a specific condition exists during the synchronization of files in a project.  The condition that causes a conflict is when a new version of an existing file exists locally and a new version of the same file also exists on Trimble Connect.  At this point, the sync tool does not know which file (locally vs Trimble Connect) is the most current file and needs user input to determine which file to upload or download.  The method of which this is resolved is to manually resolve the conflict or set a rule to either always override the file that is on Trimble Connect (upload) or to always override the file that exists locally (download).  

There are three rules of synchronization conflict resolution:

  • Skip files to manually resolve conflict
  • Files on my computer override Trimble Connect to automatically resolve conflicts
  • Files on Trimble Connect override my computer to automatically resolve conflicts

 

Skip files to manually resolve conflicts

Conflict Rule: Skip files to manually resolve conflict (default on)

File state on

Action set for schedule

Server Repository

User's Repository

Upload and Download

Upload Only

Download Only

No change

No change

Do nothing

Do nothing

Do nothing

No change

Modified

Upload file

Upload file

Do nothing

Modified

No change

Download file

Do nothing

Download file

Modified

Modified (old revision)

Do nothing

Do nothing

Do nothing

Modified

Modified (new revision, not on server)

Do nothing

Do nothing

Do nothing

Deleted

No change

Delete file

Delete file

Delete file

Deleted

Modified (old revision)

Do nothing

Do nothing

Do nothing

Deleted

Modified (new revision, not on server)

Do nothing

Do nothing

Do nothing

Does not exists

Exists

Upload file

Upload file

Do nothing

No change

Does not exists

Download file

Do nothing

Download file

Modified

Does not exists

Download file

Do nothing

Download file

* Upload file indicated under the assumption that user has permission to upload file. In case user does not have permission, file will not be uploaded.

Files on my computer override Trimble Connect to automatically resolve conflicts

Conflict Rule: Files on my computer override Trimble Connect to automatically resolve conflicts

File state on

Action set for schedule

Server Repository

User's Repository

Upload and Download

Upload Only

Download Only

No change

No change

Do nothing

Do nothing

Do nothing

No change

Modified

Upload file

Upload file

Do nothing

Modified

No change

Download file

Do nothing

Download file

Modified

Modified (old revision)

Download file

Do nothing

Download file

Modified

Modified (new revision, not on server)

Upload file

Upload file

Do nothing

Deleted

No change

Delete file

Delete file

Delete file

Deleted

Modified (old revision)

Delete file

Delete file

Delete file

Deleted

Modified (new revision, not on server)

Upload file

Upload file

Do nothing

Does not exists

Exists

Upload file

Upload file

Do nothing

No change

Does not exists

Download file

Do nothing

Download file

Modified

Does not exists

Download file

Do nothing

Download file

* Upload file indicated under the assumption that user has permission to upload file. In case user does not have permission, file will not be uploaded.

Files on Trimble Connect override my computer to automatically resolve conflicts

Conflict Rule:  Files on Trimble Connect override my computer to automatically resolve conflicts

File state on

Action set for schedule

Server Repository

User's Repository

Upload and Download

Upload Only

Download Only

No change

No change

Do nothing

Do nothing

Do nothing

No change

Modified

Download file

Do nothing

Download file

Modified

No change

Download file

Do nothing

Download file

Modified

Modified (old revision)

Download file

Do nothing

Download file

Modified

Modified (new revision, not on server)

Download file

Do nothing

Download file

Deleted

No change

Delete file

Delete file

Delete file

Deleted

Modified (old revision)

Delete file

Delete file

Delete file

Deleted

Modified (new revision, not on server)

Upload file

Upload file

Do nothing

Does not exists

Exists

Upload file

Upload file

Do nothing

No change

Does not exists

Download file

Do nothing

Download file

Modified

Does not exists

Download file

Do nothing

Download file

* Upload file indicated under the assumption that user has permission to upload file. In case user does not have permission, file will not be uploaded.

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments